Book Review: A Ghostly Wager

Hello my darlings!

In the aftermath of the release of The Witch and the Dragon, I decided to take a little breather and catch up on the TBR “pile” in my iPad…or, at least attempt to catch up on it. Let’s face it, it’s a slow process, lol.

In any case, let’s get on with it, shall we?

32281666Today, I bring you my review of A Ghostly Wager by Blaire Edens. This is the first book I’ve read by this author, and I am not going to deny that I was intrigued by the plot.

Who wouldn’t be?

Ghost-hunters in the Old West?

Hell yeah!

I am pleased to say that I was by no means disappointed. The plot was engaging, and the characters were well written. I was drawn into the story right from the start, and I could not put the book down (with the exception of which I was forced to deal with Real Life outside of the book).

The story centers around Cole, the head investigator for the Reno office of Tremayne PSI (Psychic Specters Investigations), and Annabelle, a runaway with psychic abilities. Together, they must deal with a ghost who is haunting the local brothel. I won’t go into further details, because spoilers, but it was a very entertaining plot…especially since Cole is a skeptic who doesn’t believe in ghosts (a little tidbit that he keeps on the DL from his boss).

As a side-note, I was surprised when I learned that Cole, the male lead, was a virgin. It was different from the norm of what is found in romance novels, and I don’t want to say that it was oddly refreshing, but it was. It was nice nice to see the male lead view sex as something special to be shared with his future wife instead of jumping the bones of every woman he saw. It was nice to have him be a little on the awkward side and flustered when faced with the flirtations of a brothel madam.

In fact, it was adorable!

Allow me to take this moment to inform you that this book is a clean romance. For those of you who are unfamiliar with that concept, a “clean romance” is a romance in which there are either no sex scenes, or the sex scenes happen behind closed doors and “off camera”, if you will. If you’re the type of person who needs their romance novels to have explicit sex scenes (no judgement here), then this is not the book for you.

It was also a fairly quick read, so if you don’t have a lot of time to spare for books (we’ve all been there at one point or another), have no fear! Once I was able to actually sit down and read without any distractions, I breezed through the book in about an hour. It was a perfectly quick, little getaway for my tired brain in the aftermath of my latest release after rushing to meet my deadline.

However, because this book is a quick read, there are a few parts of the plot that aren’t explored too far. While it doesn’t detract too much from the overall plot, I nevertheless found myself wishing for a bit more explanation and fleshing out.

Overall, I would recommend this book. It was enjoyable, easy to follow, and the two leading characters were likable and simply adorable together.

That’s it for now!

Until next time…stay kinky, my darlings!

giphy (2)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Ghostly Wager

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑